Price Hill was part of the Symmes Purchase in the 1780’s and at the time was populated by Native Americans. The area was originally named Bold Face Hill after Chief Bold Face. The first settler, William Terry built a log cabin in the area amongst the Native Americans in 1791. Around 1824 General Rees E. Price, a wealthy merchant who built a sawmill and brickyard in the Mill Creek Valley purchased the land and began developing neighborhoods with his sons John and William Price. The area became known as, “Price’s Hill” and was later changed to Price Hill. In 1874 his sons built the incline giving access to the area and Price Hill became an entertainment spot as well as an area with many affluent homes giving the wealthier people of the city an escape from the factory pollution and overcrowded city basin. The Eighth Street Viaduct was eventually built giving easier access to Price Hill. In 1943 the incline broke down and was never repaired.
The Price Hill area is home to many historic landmarks like the Union Baptist Cemetery, the Carnegie Library, Covedale Theater, and Mt. Echo Park. Many of the homes from the early days of Price Hill are still standing and a variety of architectural styles from Greek Revival, Italianate, and Queen Anne can be found. The Price Hill area is around 6 square miles and it is broken out into three neighborhoods – East Price Hill, West Price Hill, and Lower Price Hill. Today the top of Price Hill is seeing a renaissance with the historical Incline District and the newly designated entertainment district.